PDA

View Full Version : Albert Davila

pendleton23
08-06-2005, 06:16 PM
I have never seen him box but I have read a couple of posts on this board saying great things about him.What kind of style did he have? Some people make it sound like he was the second coming of Benitez.Was he that good?

olympic auditorium
08-06-2005, 09:36 PM
One of the purest boxers youll ever see .He was actually giving Zarate all he could handle.

pendleton23
08-06-2005, 09:40 PM
What was his styler like?I'm thinking about getting some bouts with him.I see he lost to Gomez.Did you see that bout?

starlingstomp
08-06-2005, 10:55 PM
Being a brit, i'm no expert on him as i only got to see him in his world title fights(plus Gomez and one or two others).I always enjoyed watching him fight when i got the chance, though.

His style was absolutely textbook.I don't think he really had any flaws technically, but against guys like Gomez and Zarate he was badly outgunned.

I wouldn't compare him to Benitez, who was much more athletic and safety-first.

Get Davila's second fight with Pintor.One of the best bantamweight fights ever.

Chuck1052
08-06-2005, 11:23 PM
Let me say that Albert Davila was far from being the
best bantamweight of his day. For one thing, he
was short, lacked punching power, and had a
tendency to lose some decisions because he
wasn't aggressive enough.

In my opinion, one had to see Davila fight a
number of times to fully appreciate his boxing
skills due to the fact he wasn't flashy. In
fact, Davila had a very orthodox style.

What made Davila such a terrific boxer? I think the
reason is that he knew what he was doing every
moment and had the ability to carry his plans out.
Moreover, he seemed to know exactly what punch
to throw at a given time.

Davila didn't use in the way of footwork, so he
stood in front of his opponent much of the time.
Yet Davila was very hard to hit because he
blocked and slipped punches well.

Wilfredo Benitez was a teenage prodigy with