PDA

View Full Version : Jimmy Ellis

pendleton23
11-01-2005, 07:45 PM
I remember someone posting and talking about Ellis and how he was a classy boxer who had moved up to heavyweight.
Did anyone see Ellis box a great deal ?What was his style like?
Because Ali crushed him easily and Frazier crushed him as well.
Could Ellis fight or was he overrated?The thing that shocks me is that he beat Quarry!!!!!!!!!!

starlingstomp
11-01-2005, 08:23 PM
Ellis was a boxer/puncher in the Jose Napoles mold.

Very smooth fighter with good skills and power.Just not strong enough to cope with the very best.

kikibalt
11-01-2005, 08:24 PM
I saw Jimmy Ellis fight a few times an alway thought he was underated

Frank B.

StingerKarl
11-03-2005, 12:47 AM
Those are two good points.
I patterned my own style a bit after Ellis' as I studied him a great deal as a kid and liked his flashy style in the white Adidas boxing shoes. Ali was in exile when I started watching the fights, so I saw all of Ellis' on ABC. He just wasn't big enough to really be a great one, and Ali carried him to the 12th round of their fight here in Houston which I saw in the Astrodome. He was a great fighter, but not a great heavyweight. Remember; he was a middleweight that had lost to Hurricane Carter, George Benton, Don Fullmer, and Holly Mims before Angie took him over, doctored him up, and fed him up to a heavyweight where the real money was. Yes, he beat Jerry fair and square and had the wrong style for Quarry who was a counterpuncher.

GorDoom
11-03-2005, 01:29 AM
Jimmy Ellis

Born: February 24, 1940 Louisville
Career Record: 40-12-1 (24 kayos)
Manager: Angelo Dundee

Apr 19 Arley Seifer Louisville, KY KO 3
May 6 Gene Leslie Louisville, KY W 8
Jul 22 Johnny Morris Louisville, KY W 6
Aug 22 Wilf Greaves Louisville, KY W 10
Oct 7 Clarence Riley Louisville, KY KO 2
Nov 29 Holly Mims Louisville, KY L 10

Jan 11 Rory Calhoun Louisville, KY KO 1
Feb 17 Johnny Alford New York W 6
May 4 Holly Mims Louisville, KY W 10